Strange Days.

Image from RazeTheWorld

I gather that most internet/cable providers now offer a ‘live chat’ customer service…er, service. Which I can appreciate, in theory. Sometimes you just don’t want to put down the computer long enough to chat with another human being. Pffft. Social interaction – who needs it? Amiright? Anyway – I tried it out a couple of times about a month ago, as I didn’t have a phone at the time. It was creepy. Supercreepy. Sample message:

I can certainly relate to your needs and to have you in this chat is as good as fulfilling my own. I am committed to providing you with the best customer service experience. I greatly appreciate your time to chat with us today. How are you doing so far, brutchrepublic?

I had to bite back the urge to type, ‘A little to the left and not quite so hard.’

Yeah, my mind’s pretty much always in the gutter.

Leave a comment